Dwarf Planet

A body in our solar system that is larger than a comet or asteroid but not large enough to qualify as a major planet. This category was created by the International Astronomical Union in 2006. A dwarf planet is large enough that its gravity can pull it into a roughly spherical shape, but not large enough to clear its orbit around the Sun of other objects. As of 2011, there are five dwarf planets in the solar system: Pluto, Ceres, Eris, Makemake, and Haumea (which is not spherical, but is shaped more like an egg or a potato). Ceres is in the asteroid belt, while the others are beyond the orbit of Neptune, the eighth planet from the Sun.

It seems we can’t find what you’re looking for. Perhaps searching can help.

Shopping Cart
Scroll to Top