Gravitational Waves

Ripples in space-time created by the stretching and squeezing effects of massive objects, notably supernovae, binary black holes, and binary neutron stars. Gravity waves are transverse waves, meaning that they stretch and squeeze space-time in directions perpendicular to the wave's motion. Einstein's Theory of General Relativity predicts the existence of gravity waves, but they have not yet been detected.

Radio Programs

Merging Quasars Pairs of black holes get closer Wednesday, December 16, 2015
General Relativity V Catching ripples in the universe Friday, November 27, 2015
Pulsar Tales Dead stars that won’t shut up Tuesday, August 20, 2013
Cracking Up A neutron star cracks up Friday, March 22, 2013
Gravitational Kick A black hole gets a big kick Wednesday, October 24, 2012
Wobbly Clocks Listening for cosmic “ripples” Friday, May 11, 2012
Gravitational Waves V The “wavy” birth of a black hole Friday, January 27, 2012
Gravitational Waves IV Silencing the rumbling Earth Thursday, January 26, 2012
Gravitational Waves III Lighting up ripples in spacetime Wednesday, January 25, 2012
Gravitational Waves II Tiny ripples from heavy objects Tuesday, January 24, 2012
Gravitational Waves Rippling across the universe Monday, January 23, 2012

Featured Images

Launch of Lisa Pathfinder
Gravity Bound Wednesday, December 2, 2015

FacebookTwitterYouTube

©2015 The University of Texas McDonald Observatory